The Fifth Wave Inside of Us

“Sometimes you tell yourself that you have a choice, but really you don’t have a choice! Just because there are alternatives doesn’t mean they apply to you.”

Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

The experiences of the last few years have felt like a weight on my mind, constant pressure bearing down on the top of my head. When my life changed it felt like a great weight had been lifted off my shoulders, my mind felt free and open again. The negative experiences no longer whirled around my mind. But the experiences I had over the last few years are still there. I have tried to forget and move on, but have come to realise that some experiences are a part of you and will become a burden that you must carry for the rest of your life. Some wounds will leave a scar for the rest of your life. Do not hide that ugly scar it is a part of you, it is a witness to your survival. Maybe life is not about forgetting these experiences but learning to carry the extra weight with strength and resilience.

β€œSome things you can never leave behind. They don’t belong to the past. They belong to you.”
Rick Yancey, The 5th Wave

6 thoughts on “The Fifth Wave Inside of Us

  1. Woody says:

    Really like this post AJ, wise words indeed, hoping your life changes in every way you need it to πŸ™‚

  2. Short, simple and well put. I have to agree and as a great man once said when offered to have his pain removed “I don’t want you to take away my pain! I need my pain! It’s what makes me who I am.” I think it was actually Captain Kirk. Haha.

    • Well, it shows you can learn lessons in life everywhere…Spock & Dr Nemoy both had their past pain removed (I cant remember the man that did this) but Kirk refused as he realised that although that would be an amazing feeling of release it is very much the pain that makes us who we are! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

