Contradictions

“I like the idea of people saying, ‘how can this person be that person?’ One of the things I constantly think about as a writer is the way in which people are full of contradictions – there is all this contradictory information inside a human personality.”

Justin Cronin writing about his novel, The Passage

Contradictions have become an important theme in my writing. Yin and Yang, male and female, what is the robber without the cop? Contradictions were all around me during my recent travels to Southeast Asia. The chaos of Bangkok compared to the calm of Laos. As the popular saying often quoted in Thailand goes;

‘Same, same. But different’ 

I have always been intrigued by the identity of the other, the outsider or to put simply the traveler. Who is this character you are writing about? What is a character’s identity when they can be considered as completely different people, with contradictory characteristics, depending on who is regarding them! Does the way we look at a person tell us more about ourselves than the person we are looking at?

Tao_YinYangEarth2

Contradictions

2 thoughts on “Contradictions

  1. Anna says:

    It does tell us about ourselves, because we look at the world through our lenses. I agree that Asian cultures can teach us a great deal.

  2. I agree Anna I think we can learn a lot about ourselves by being the ‘other’ or outsider. I will be updating more of my recent travels to Southeast Asia!

Leave a Reply

